IKMQ by Roger Farr


  • Poetry
  • 80 pages, 6×9 inches
  • Price: $16 CAD · $16 USD
  • ISBN: 9781554200641
  • Date published: 2012-07-26
  • Availability: in print & available


Purchase This Title

About IKMQ

Roger Farr's IKMQ consists of sixty–four brief passages ––– stories, descriptions, instructions, scenarios, formulae ––– each involving the characters represented by the letters I, K, M and Q. Various clues, suggested by the rules of grammar and syntax, hint at connections and continuities, and at narrative peaking out from behind the screen of action.

But never mind the theory ––– enjoy the ride, as I, K, M and Q convert houses to commercial grow–ops, manufacture explosives, go all in on the flop, get up early to catch chinook, plan, build and sell subdivisions, conduct meetings according to Roberts, plot a prison break, score an all–important goal, get the door for the pizza delivery boy, and get on with transforming the world through their revolutionary action.

IKMQ was a finalist for the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize.

About Roger Farr

Described as "a poet of great heart and aesthetic/political commitment," Roger Farr is the author of Surplus (2006), Means (2012), and IKMQ (2012), a finalist for the BC Book Prize in Poetry in 2013. His most recent book is I Am a City Still But Soon I Shan't Be (2019).

A former member of the artist-run Kootenay School of Writing collective, Roger Farr's critical writing on avant-garde poetics and radical social movements has appeared in Anarchist Studies, Armed Cell, Fifth Estate, Perspectives on Anarchist Theory, The Poetic Front, West Coast Line, and XCP: Cross Cultural Poetics. He edited the three-volume anthology Open Text: Canadian Poetry and Poetics in the 21st Century (2008-2013), and was Critical Editor for Alice Becker-Ho's The Essence of Jargon: Argot & the Language of the Dangerous Classes (2015). He is Convener of Creative Writing at Capilano University in Vancouver.

Visit Roger Farr's page

More books by Roger Farr

I Am a City Still But Soon I Shan't Be by Roger Farr After Villon by Roger Farr The Amorous Comrade by Roger Farr